The Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC) has clarified the controversial run-out of Pakistan opener Muneeba Ali during the 2025 Women’s World Cup match against India, asserting that the third umpire made the correct decision. The incident occurred on the final ball of the fourth over in Pakistan’s innings at R Premadasa Stadium. Muneeba initially avoided being out LBW from a delivery by Kranti Gaud, as India opted not to review the decision, despite replays showing three reds. However, she stepped out of her crease, and a throw from Deepti Sharma hit the stumps. Although Muneeba’s bat was grounded, it was airborne when Deepti’s throw struck the stumps, resulting in her dismissal for just two runs.
The on-field decision was not out, but a review by third umpire Kerrin Klaaste confirmed that her bat was off the ground when the stumps were broken, leading to her run-out. This decision led to heated discussions, with Pakistan captain Fatima Sana Khan arguing to the fourth umpire Kim Cotton that Muneeba had grounded her bat and had no intention of running, suggesting the dismissal should be overturned. In its clarification on Monday, the MCC stated that the Laws of Cricket were properly applied in declaring Muneeba run-out.
It addressed the notion that Muneeba might have been protected under Law 30.1.2, which states, “a batter shall not be considered to be out of his/her ground if, in running or diving towards his/her ground and beyond, and having grounded some part of his/her person or bat beyond the popping crease, there is subsequent loss of contact between the ground and any part of his/her person or bat, or between the bat and person.” The MCC explained that this law applies to players who are running or diving towards the stumps, while Muneeba was not moving towards her ground; she had taken her stance outside the popping crease and did not move her feet back into the crease.
This law, sometimes referred to as the ‘bouncing bat Law,’ was introduced in 2010 to safeguard batters who accidentally lose contact with the ground while approaching the stumps. It does not apply to players turning for another run, losing balance, or, as in Muneeba’s case, merely lifting their bat into the air. Therefore, the MCC concluded that the third umpire’s decision was entirely justified.